Taylorsville-Spencer County Joint Planning and Zoning Commission

The regular meeting of the Taylorsville-Spencer County Joint Planning and Zoning Commission was held April 20, 2023, in the Fiscal Court meeting room located at 28 East Main Street, Taylorsville, Kentucky.

Vice Chairman Faue called the meeting to order.

Present were Valerie Hunt, Jacob Brown, Diana Faue, Marsha Mudd, Anthony Travis, Paula Wheatley and Teddy Noel. Gordon Deapen was absent. Also present was Attorney Dale, Administrator Julie Sweazy and Admin. Assistant Angie Helton.

Vice Chairman Faue: In your packets you have a copy of the minutes from the last meeting for April 6, 2023. I will entertain a motion to approve those minutes.

Commissioner Hunt made some changes.

Commissioner Mudd: Made a motion to approve the minutes with changes for the April 6, 2023, meeting.

Commissioner Noel: Second.

Vice Chairman Faue: Roll call please.

Administrator Sweazy: Roll called, motion carries.

Vice Chairman Faue: Any committees?

Administrator Sweazy: None. But I will report that on Monday night the Fiscal Court approved the amendment for the regulations for the Townhouses District. They added a change to it that they would like there to only be 12 homes maximum per acre. I have added that in and it's scheduled to go to the City on May 9th.

Vice Chairman Faue: Anyone wishing to speak must be sworn in.

Attorney Dale administered the oath of testimony to all wishing to speak.

Vice Chairman Faue: Old business.

Administrator Sweazy: None.

Vice Chairman Faue: New business.

Administrator Sweazy: We have the application of **David Keeling, Wes Keeling and Aaron Keeling** requesting AG-1, agricultural to AG-2, agricultural on 0.309 acres located at 1279 Plum Creek Road, Hwy. 1060. The comprehensive plan recommended land use map indicates the area should be low density residential. In 1998 they zoned 6.0+ acres to AG-2, agricultural. The applicants are requesting to change this 0.309 acres to convey in with the already zoned AG-2 acreage to increase the lot size.

Wes Keeling: 1227 Plum Creek Road. I owned the property, and I sold it to my son-in-law. I had previously fenced off a piece. Then ended up building my house in the middle of the farm. When I sold the property to him, I told him I would give him that too. Now that's what I'm doing.

Vice Chairman Faue: Questions from the commission.

Commissioner Hunt: It says the purpose of the minor plat is to create tract 1a of 0.309 acres and combine with tract 1, total combined acres is 5.319 acres. If that one is already 6 how are we getting 5.319?

Mr. Keeling: It wasn't 6, it was 5.01.

Administrator Sweazy: I think at the time they did it, it was 6 acres +/-.

Commissioner Hunt: The existing 50' joint use easement, that's just already dealt with and everything on that tract 1?

Mr. Keeling: That's actually part of tract 1.

Vice Chairman Faue: Any other questions or discussion? If everyone is in agreement, we can address this tonight.

Commissioner Mudd: I don't see any reason to carry it over.

Vice Chairman Faue: I'll entertain a motion.

Commissioner Hunt: I make a motion to recommend to rezone the application of David Keeling, Wes Keeling and Aaron Keeling requesting a zone change from AG-1, agricultural to AG-2, agricultural on 0.309 acres located at 1279 Plum Creek Road, Hwy. 1060. The recommended land use map in the comprehensive plan recommends low density residential. The change would be in compliance with the comprehensive plan and there's no one here to speak against it.

Commissioner Travis: Second.

Vice Chairman Faue: Discussion, call roll.

Administrator Sweazy: Roll called, motion carries.

Vice Chairman Faue: General questions or discussion.

Administrator Sweazy: The only thing is our next meeting date is May 4, 2023, and at this time we don't have any applications.

Commissioner Mudd: So, the next date is May 18th?

Administrator Sweazy: The third Thursday.

Commissioner Travis: Motion to adjourn.

Commissioner Noel: Second.

Vice Chairman Faue: All in favor say aye, meeting adjourned.

Attest:

Secretary

Chairman